A piece of Good Luck from Laos!

03Jan11

A very happy new year to everyone – with this picture of a screen printed piece of fabric, that I had just bought in a temple in beautiful Luang Prabang in Laos. To European eyes it might look rather occult, however, I was assured by the temple worker that I bought it from, that it means nothing but good luck for the person who carries it.

I was very intrigued by the graphics and could not resist purchasing it. The temple worker seemed actually very delighted that I was so interested in all those pieces of fabric that he was selling (it is an open question whether this was because I spent some dollars or because I showed cultural interest). And who knows – maybe by looking at the picture it will rub off some of the good luck to the reader of this post.

In this spirit all the best for 2011! By the way, I have extended my contract teaching at Raffles International College in Bangkok, so will manage to completely escape the European winter by staying here til middle of April. Bliss.

No Responses Yet to “A piece of Good Luck from Laos!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

